Blank Spacer

With apologies to Taylor Swift, I present to you the following.

Blank Space-r

Nice to meet you, what brings you here?
I could ask you almost anything,
Rashes, fevers, diarrhoea?
Saw you here and I thought
‘Oh my god, hear that chest,
He should be the next assessed’
The triage nurse is looking stressed.

Bring you in, sit you there,
Talk to Mum about what’s going on.
Assess your throat, look in your ears
And I know you are quite wheezy.
So hey, let’s give some puffs,
I’m hoping ten will be enough,
Grab your spacer, come with me,
I can make your breathing better for a little while.

Cause you’re young and you’re breathless,
You come to A&E.
Run out of inhalers,
No time to see a GP.
Got a long list of visits,
They all say the same.
I’ll give you burst and steroids
You’ll be glad you came.

Leave a comment